Long time no see

It’s been almost a year since I last posted on this blog. Sometimes I have episodes of depression that keep me from doing things, and sometimes life just gets hectic. Last winter, it was depression. Then it was the garden. At the moment, things are extraordinarily hectic because of an upcoming family wedding, but please allow me wish all of you a blessed Samhain and a happy Halloween. Once things simmer down again, I fully intend to continue researching and posting what I find out about Estonian name-days and bits of folklore that strike my fancy.

blessings,

Anita

4 comments on “Long time no see

  1. Outi says:

    I found your blog while searching the etymology behind St John’s Wort’s Estonian name, and I really, really like everything you’ve written. It’s a completely new world, the life of an immigrant, and it’s quite eye-opening to read your experiences. If you haven’t considered it yet, I think you should write a book; immigrant experiences touch everyone and I think we need more stories about them.

    I’m Finnish myself and slowly learning Estonian on the side of my actual studies, and I’m quite in love with the language. It only takes a two-hour ferry trip (or faster if you like bumpy rides) to Tallinna from Helsinki so I have a possibility to visit quite often 🙂

    You fancy names and so do I. My own first name, Outi is said to be a Carelian name from the 1500s, originating from a Greek word “Eudokia” meaning benevolent. I for one don’t see how you get Eudokia to turn into Outi- they don’t even resemble each other at all 😀 another possible source is a Sami word called “outa”, meaning the forest. I prefer that story, considering that it seems quite impossible to actually find proper sources for Eudokia-version.

  2. Mari P. says:

    Hi Anita, I discovered your blog in recent times, which I’ve much enjoyed reading. My mother was Estonian, settling in England after the war, and so many of your stories and descriptions ring true… I look forward to more to come!…

    • I am so glad you have enjoyed it. I haven’t been writing much recently due to family issues. Also, writing about name origins involves a great deal of research from a variety of sources. But one of these days I will get back to it.

Leave a Reply

